I’m posting more photos than usual, probably because of a type of nostalgia. It’s fun looking back on all the fun photos I’ve taken (or gorgeous, or nice..etc) over the last 10 years.

Throughout the history of my sharing photos on this blog, there have been a tiny minority I took on my cell phone (iPhone 4 or 6). I don’t actually like taking lots of photos on my phone for big subjects, or trips. But for small things–or my cats–cell phone works great. In fact, all the photos of my cats–Rose & Thorin–here are from my phone.

I prefer using my digital camera.

It takes clearer, more intense photos. And to be fair, when traveling, for architecture, or just out on the town, I feel like a camera takes better photos than an iPhone or camera phone. The zoom is certainly clearer & I feel like it gets better, clear, high-focus details.


But unfortunately, I only have a 10+ year old Kodak EasyShare as my digital camera. It’s been a solid workhorse. All my photos from Europe on the blog are from this camera. So are all the others (zoo, big cats, MoPOP, etc). It’s been a great camera, considering it cost 85$ and is 10+ years old at this point.

However! All old cameras are eventually going to die. Mine–it’s freezing. The shutter locks, the screen freezes, the settings all lock up and don’t work as they should. I can take simple “auto” setting photos, but that’s it. And the zoom itself is actually glitching out, too. Stabilization is only so-so, probably 70% of the time it works, 30% not so well. Anything advanced (even the preset modes for photos) are beyond its capability to process anymore.


It’s sad that the camera is finally dying; but I’ve had a good run with it.

I also feel it is bit nostalgic to go through the old photos, and to see just what I did with it. And it’s a good opportunity to go over everything that I did, that way I know what type of new camera to buy to replace the old Kodak. Surprisingly enough, my budget/beginner Kodak has done an excellent job over the years. I don’t think it too obvious just how budget a camera it was. Obviously no DSLR or any professional camera, but I think I’ve gotten some pretty good photos through the years with such a cheap little thing.

I’m currently in the market for a new digital camera–and I’ll be excited to share new photos I take with that one, too; once I’ve found the perfect replacement.

Meanwhile, enjoy my camera nostalgia!

Save

Save

