Symphony No. 1 in C minor “The Bells of Zlonice” – Antonín Dvořák

I’ve mentioned before that I adore Dvořák, he’s one of my favorite composers. And I really, truly adore his work. My favorite opera is his Rusalka, which is just glorious. This one though, it’s kind of special to listen to. He composed it early, and then it was lost for decades. So it was the last published of his works and last performed–but interestingly for all that, it also did not get edited by Dvořák during his life. So it’s kind of…pristine is a good word to use.

This is a nice, kind of light and also a bit…strange piece to listen to. It doesn’t sound like a lot of his older stuff, not completely. Or at least, I don’t think so. But it also reminds me of a kind of refreshing newness, which is rather nice to listen to. It’s a nice one, and I much rather prefer this to his Symphony No. 9 “From the New World” (New World Symphony), which was actually how I learned about Dvořák to begin with. But this one, I like this symphony better than the 9th.

Tonight is a Dvořák and Romantic kind of night. But I might pop over to Bedřich Smetana (The Bartered Bride) next. His work is a bit of a “hidden gem”, since I know most people outside classical music circles aren’t too familiar with Smetana, but he’s a brilliant one, too.*

