My family likes to joke that I have a problem…namely I’m a huge “cat lady”. Personally I fail to see this as a problem, but it does make for a funny joke. And there’s no lie–I love cats; of all sorts. So my family gave me a little challenge, and I’m actually laughing at it now. Because they asked me to check just how many photos of cats I have (excluding my Rose–because I have hundreds of her). So here’s a little auto-start slideshow of some of my favorite cat photos:

 

Those are just the favorites. I’ve got hundreds more. And actually; I probably accumulate cat photos far more quickly than anything else. I’m a bit obsessed.


But that’s not bad. I find that cats are very spiritual for me. And not in the whole “I have a cat-familiar” way. That’s not it at all. And that’s a post for another day, I think. Because I have lots of thoughts on that, too, if I’m honest. And it’s not like I think somehow cats are more spiritual or more “magical” than other animals either.

I’ve been coming to a slow understanding that there’s a particular link between cats and spirits. Which is kind of a no shit Sherlock kind of realization. I’ve kind of always known it, but it’s been more of a simmering understanding, far more than anything I’ve consciously thought on in any depth. Besides, cats are always around me (everyone in my family owns a cat–so they have always been here); which means I don’t spend a whole lot of time actively thinking about cats and how they relate to spiritual presence and ideas.

But among the spirits I have begun to notice a lot about cats and their connections. Especially the domovoi. It’s in a lot of art, actually. Ever more than I realized before, now that I’m kind of actively looking into it. Which is peculiar; because I don’t remember reading anything about them being particularly associated with cats, not in old lore. But they are. And the art is pretty. Then again, I also know that I can kind of forget things I’ve read, only to…eh, “rediscover” them later. So it’s entirely possible that I’ve read something connecting domovoi and cats before; and I’m just now making the active connection.

Which of course is an interesting thought. I mean, I spent years wondering just what my Rose was chirping at, or playing with–all when nothing was there. We always used to say she had “friends”; and usually we’d just put it down to ghosts. Growing up in old Victorian houses, ghosts are pretty common–every house I lived in until I was about 14 had a ghost (friendly or otherwise) or more. So we just always put her weird interactions down to ghosts–or the occasional “cat”, meaning just normal cat behavior. Not to say automatically that there was some sort of household spirit or domovoi around at all, just like I can’t say there really were ghosts. But it’s an interesting idea; one that could explain an awful lot of the crazy shenanigans that she got up to.

Art by Vasylina

All in all, I’m actually rather pleased. My favorite animal is a cat, and I’m always rather delighted when my own personal interests show up with some real connections for practice, life and spirituality. I enjoy the thought that there’s a real connection between cats and beliefs. It kind of re-enforces just what I can expect. And if cats and domovoi like each other, then perhaps that bodes better for my one day inviting a domovoi back to my family’s house. At least to start, there’s something familiar and liked in the house (the cat)–which would be at the least a good start.

Save

Save

Save

Save

