Once again it’s that favorite time of year (wherein I ignore the super-obvious holiday, the one everyone will be celebrating [including my entire family], that I’ve previously ranted about, and focus on a day I like far better). It’s the Feast Day of St. Gertrude of Nivelles! Patron saint of cats, and therefore of supreme importance to me as a cat-lover.

Also, given that I’ve admitted I’m not opposed to occasionally bringing up Saints – a Saint I’m not above sending prayers to, alongside my gods, when it comes to my baby kitty. For my cat I’ll do only the best, and for me that includes basic honoring of the saints at appropriate times that my family worshiped for centuries before me. And a saint of cats, well, that’s top of my list. I appreciate a saint that is associated with cats, and it’s nice to recognize days like this.

Today I’ve just set aside some time for myself for this afternoon to just a very simple prayer and offering. It’s simple, no-frills; which is just generally how I like to do my work. Nothing special and nothing major, but it’s nice to thank those who have helped keep my sweet little kitty throughout the years; and who have perhaps kept an eye on her over the last two years with all the health issues we’ve been battling with her.

So here’s to a good day!

St. Gertrude photo courtesy of Kattenkruid, taken from Catster.

Save

Save

