Sorcerer's ApprenticeAnd by that I don’t mean the Goethe ballad, or the scene from Fantasia (much as I think that scene is hilarious and amusing to watch). I mean, I adore Goethe — even if he is supremely dense reading; like stereotypical German density. And The Sorcerer’s Apprentice is, for me at least, one of the more intelligible of his pieces for me to read. Here‘s a good dual-language copy! So go and read. Also, the scene from Fantasia is good, but not that good. It’s not my favorite, by a long shot.

I’m actually talking about the terribly 2010 movie with Nic Cage in it. Which, I mean…if you want terribly tacky fantasy, sure it’s good at that. And implausible story points. Really…Prime Merlinian and Morganians. It’s almost laughable, with how overwrought and ridiculous it is. And names like Balthazar, Morgana and Maxim Horvath. It’s giggle inducing. Actually, it’s really hard to take it even remotely seriously.

So it begs the question, why am I watching this movie again?

Well, simply enough, just a few months before my grandma’s death back in 2010, we were talking about movies when I was visiting her, and a commercial for this thing came on TV. Grandma was actually interested to see it (of course I was, it’s magic); so she said we should go and see it together. we were planning on going to see it at a little local theater, which usually runs movies for like 2$ per ticket, a month or two after the initial run has ended, as a re-show. It’s fun to go there, and you can see movies for dirt cheap, which is the part I’m most fond of. Because broke college-kid me couldn’t afford to go see real movies.

Because I went back to school, and then my grandma got sick…and she was gone, I never got to go see it with her. And then, because I just couldn’t bring myself to watch it right away, well, it too me 2 years go actually see it. Theatrically, it’s a disappointment. But it’s got a special place in my heart because my grandma and I had plans. True, she didn’t get to see it with me, but that doesn’t matter. I’m sure she would have appreciated it’s tacky charms, and we could have quipped about the same terrible things in it.

So this is a nice little reminder of my grandma when I watch it. That’s why I’ll re-watch this movie even if it’s quite honestly terrible and cringe-worthy.

Save

Save

