I was on my way to work this morning when I had the second most terrifying experience of my life driving. First most was last year when a semi going nearly 70mph almost rear-ended me last year, because the driver wasn’t paying attention to the traffic jam I stopped for.

But this morning–my tire flat exploded on my way to work. Like…ribbons of rubber left barely holding onto the metal rim, exploded. A nice man stopped to make sure I was okay, and to help get my car off the freeway itself and onto the gore strip between the freeway and an exit ramp. He heard my tire pop from almost 1/4 mile behind me on the freeway. So it was loud. And actually, a bit terrifying. I’ve had my tire spring a leak before, and had it go flat driving on city streets; which I was able to pull over to a gas station and handle with the air machines, and get to the tire store. But I’ve never had my tire literally pop like that. And it wasn’t a regular pop, like a nail in the tire…it just went boom, and then it was in ribbons.

So then I had to wait 2.5 hours for a tow truck (which they helpfully told me was on rush order because I was on the freeway, or it would have been 4 hours). Then 2 further hours at the tire shop. They checked over everything. Thankfully the tire blowing as spectacularly as it did was no damage to my alignment, axle, or other tires. Thankfully my car is okay and so am I. But geez…that was a terrible experience.

