So I have the unfortunate luck of being a sufferer of chronic, frequent, debilitating migraines. And even worse is that they’re totally genetic. Both my parents, one uncle, several aunts, and I don’t even know how many cousins all have them. We, as both sides of my family, clearly drew genetic short straw when it comes to this type of thing. Most telling for me, my mom is treatment resistant to a bunch of the medications for migraines. My dad had to try like 4 different medications, he told me, before he found one that worked. So basically, I’m screwed on this front–because with both my parents getting them badly, there’s no way for me to avoid having them.

Which doesn’t bode well for me. I’ve been taking Immitrex for about 5-6 years for migraines now. After about 2 years of my doctor having me try every conceivable over the counter medication from Bayer, Advil, Tylenol…you name it and I tried it. None of the OTCs help me in the slightest. Ah, and also a trial of putting me on sleeping pills, which my doctor never could explain why they wanted to give me sleeping medication to control or stop migraines.

So they put me on Immitrex, which is I guess the first round to try out with migraines. And for the last few years it’s done okay. I still get migraines, but it at least would work to stop them from getting worse if I caught it quick enough. However, in the last month I had a really bad reaction. I had the unfortunate circumstance of the migraine medication causing a really frightening response. My head felt like it was on fire, and just deep pain while the migraine did not ease, go away…it got worse.

So I quit taking it, and my doctor gave me a new prescription yesterday to try. We’re going to see if it helps, short-term for me. But more importantly, I’m to call a neurologist. Given that I get 2-3 migraines a month (which for me is actually an “improvement” over what it used to be), there’s something wrong. So my doctor decided that if we can do anything to help remove the migraines completely from my life. Admittedly, I will try any doctor or medical treatment that might rid me of them. I’ve been getting migraines for well over 10 years, and they’re awful.

I’m calling up on Monday to see about getting an appointment. We’ll see how this goes. But I’m actually excited to see if there’s anything that can be done to help curb the frequency of my migraines.

