So the hits just keep coming this week. On top of my problems with my mental health beginning to stabilize itself (slowly but surely, whoot) – now my precious kitty cat is having health problems too. Which is really worse for me, because she’s my baby.

We just found out after 3 hours at the veterinarian last night that my baby kitten, who is 18 years old, might have cancer. She had a lump on her side, that just rapidly expanded suddenly. So we took her in, they had to cut it open and remove the lump. But because of how big it actually was (size was deceiving from how large it felt to us, as compared to how big it actually was), they can’t sew her skin back shut. So we just have to keep the wound clean, disinfected and let her little immune system stitch itself and the skin back together. She’s gotten antibiotic shots, and we’ve got all the medication and supplies to take care of her at home, so all we can do is take care of her by cleaning the wound multiple times a day for the next 2 weeks and just pray that her body can recover.

Which the vet told us is not a guarantee. She warned us that cat’s immune systems do slow down the older they get, and my cat is admittedly on the “elderly” side of the spectrum. And my cat is, while remarkably healthy overall besides this issue, she is also very old – so her immune system is going to have a large strain on it to handle this. It could be cancer, or it might be mersa or it could be a multitude of other conditions having caused the lump. At 18 years old, there’s no point in biopsying it to find out what it is. Any surgery at this point, if the biopsy told us that surgery was necessary for example, considering how my cat’s heart and lungs stop when she’s anesthetized (always have ever since she was a kitten) would probably just kill her due to her age and the long-standing heart-murmur that she’s always had. So we just have to keep an eye on her, and ensure we keep the abscess clean and help make sure that her body can heal itself. That’s our only option at this point.

I’m just terrified of her not healing. This is my baby after all. We’ve had my Rose since I was 6 years old. I almost can’t remember a time she hasn’t been in my life. So her being in pain and hurt makes my heart hurt. Right now I’m just hoping for good news within the next 2 weeks for my little kitty cat.

