It’s one of those rituals that I have usually no interest in participating in. I clean when I want to…and not on some arbitrary schedule of when one should do their cleaning. Although that probably sounds unduly hostile on my part. I just really don’t like timelines on when is a good time to do things. And the whole idea that spring must mean cleaning has always just irked me a bit. However, as it is still spring, I find myself doing a lot of cleaning.

Not just the physical, normal cleaning of my apartment, which I am doing. I’m downsizing furniture and items, rearranging my bookshelves, and cleaning up my room to make it cleaner and easier to navigate. I’m enjoying planning out the new arrangement of my room, which is the biggest need of updating and cleaning. Though I still don’t know what I’m going to do with all my books, as I have far too many to be manageable with the small amount of storage space I currently possess. Some day I’ll have a place where I can put all my books out on display, but for now I update, clean and reorganize to fit within the bounds of what I have.

I’m also working on some spiritual cleaning. That means getting rid of things that are no longer useful for me, and bringing in new things that are more useful. So I’m shedding those ideas that no longer work. Streamlining my research ideas, and updating what is most important to research and study. I kind of enjoy an idea of reconfiguring and restructuring my path, while cleaning up what is either extraneous or needs tweaking to fit into my beliefs and clearing out what is no longer needed.

So for once in my life, I’m actually completely into spring cleaning.

