I visited Meißen back in March of 2012.

It was just one of my many travels to castles, ruins, or forts during my year studying in Germany. One thing I loved doing was taking photos. A few just jumped out at me while I was going through them again.

This is one of my favorites, from the Albrechtsburg.

100_3126It’s from Heinrich Frauenlob von Meißen. He lived during the 13th Century. And one of the Minnesänger (Minnesingers in English). So the text itself is in Middle High German. I’m a huge fan of Middle High German and the Minnesänger. It’s a tradition I’m fascinated with, and enjoyed what I learned at the uni. I can even read Middle High German, and speak a bit–but only with concentration and time to make the translations into modern German.

Any attempt to study language, and to understand the culture that creates a piece of work is a worthy endeavor to my mind. Therefore I’ve always been fascinated to learn what I can of old Europe. I might not have that same faith, but I appreciate what that faith created…and the culture it helped to support. So seeing pretty things like this, and knowing that I can study the movement that created them, it’s fun.

I’ve thought about writing out some things, and utilizing this script style. Not the language–I am not comfortable enough in modern German to post a lot, though I’m working on that. But, the style of writing, how it’s written, that is nice. If I ever do hand writing and bind any work of mine, I think I want it to be an old-fashioned style like this. Something elegant and historical.

So this is something I am considering for future reference.

Save

