(The German version is here)

I have always been interested in the vampire. It is, and has been, my favorite mythological figure. Partially because of three things: blood, death, and the human soul.

And of course there is the media portrayal, especially Dracula by Bram Stoker.

I read Dracula when I was 7 years old, and thereafter I read everything I could find about vampires. Most of it was literature, but there was some mythology as well. Most interesting for me was the Slavic mythology, which discussed vampires. I remember reading a story linking the vampire with butterflies.

Another creature tied to vampires is spiders–which for me is terrible. I’m arachnophobic, so I hate spiders. My opinion, spiders should not be connected to vampires. However, they are also tied to wolves or dogs, which I can accept. Or, more popularly, bats.

Most important of the vampires is Vlad the Impaler. Also interesting is Elizabeth Bathory, the Blood Countess. For my interests though, I find Dracula, Vlad, more in order. Because of my history interest, I read a lot about Wallachia and Romania.

(a short article today, as I am extremely sick…I’ll try to write more next time)

