So I’m going to get the chance to meet up with another great-uncle of mine. The family has records in German, and as I’m the only speaker, they’re asking if I can translate for them. I’m beyond excited for this. It’s great to get to a) meet family I haven’t seen and b) use my German language skills.

I don’t think I’ve seen this great-uncle before (or if I have, it was when I was really little). But still, family is family…and I’m glad to get to see him. And time to translate in German for my family is a great chance. Family documents are things that hold deep fascination for me, and I’m very excited to get a chance to spend time going over old family records. I might even get more information on where all my family comes from. Because there is a lot I don’t know. And speaking with my older kin folk is bound to provide me with information that I didn’t have before now.

So it’s more stuff I’ll get to learn on the family home front and where my family comes from.

