I own this ring. Sorry for the slightly fuzzy quality of the image itself. For some odd reason I can never get a good-quality picture of this ring. If I ever do get one, I will add it to this post.

It belonged to my grandma before she passed away, and is one of the only things of hers I inherited. I wear it constantly. I don’t know if the stone is a genuine or a man-made gemstone. I don’t much care either way. Because my grandma owned it before me, that’s the most important thing.

But, it’s supposed to be an emerald in sterling silver.

I love emeralds (second only to rubies and opals, which tie on first). There’s something that is soothing about them to me. I think it’s the pretty, peaceful green color of them. It just makes me feel at ease and relaxed to have one on me at all times. I have never much thought on correspondences for most gems…though I do have a book on those that I should dig back out, at least for research purposes. In any case, I have no clue what properties emeralds are supposed to have. Or even, if my ring is man-made in gem nature, if they would even apply. Don’t much care either.

Emeralds to me are peaceful, calming influences.

And that’s something I could do a lot with, as most of my other jewelry is studded with rubies, which I have a totally different association with. So my emerald ring is a comfort–not just because of who I inherited it from, but also because of what it stands for to me.

I think it associates that to me because it reminds me of the beautiful green garden my family had when I was growing up. It was always peaceful, calm and quiet out in the garden. So I think the color associated that for me. But, no matter, I am happy and comfortable with my associations I have created, so I will continue to use them as long as it continues to work for me.

