Sometimes I remember that I’ve got an unusual pantheon that I follow. And it tells me that I don’t have that many people to discuss my religious practice with. After all…there are hundreds of pagans/polytheists that follow Greek, Celtic or Norse deities. Just to name 3 major pantheons off the top of my head. Then there’s the generic “Lord” and “Lady” that people will name off. There are soft polytheists that say all are manifestations of a single god and goddess.

None of those really speak to me.

Finding myself drawn to Slavic mythology, I do find that it has benefits. After all, I don’t have to see the fluffy artwork and nonsense that a lot of others have to see. And there aren’t rampant cartoons being bandied about the internet of my deities.

On the other hand–there is comparatively no one to talk to about what I believe. And the issue in finding resources is an ongoing one. I’ve found that speaking German helps me find some more resources than I could find, if I just spoke English. But, speaking at least one Slavic-language would benefit me (that’s on my list of things to learn). Still, with so few people that believe in my pantheon…there are very few people that I can chat with about how things work. What connections there are, etc.

It does foster independence for myself, which cannot necessarily be a bad thing. At times though, I do miss being able to just pop into a group online and being able to go, “Yo, all other ____-believers, what do you think about X?” and getting answers. Others are able to do that. They can bounce myth, UPG and folklore off of each other. That is something that is harder to do in a small community that isn’t as well developed.

There are a lot of things that are strange for me to remember at times. But this one is a dual-edged sword. It’s good and also somewhat sad. I enjoy the independence. But I also sometimes wish I had more people to discuss what I’m doing…just to see how others are handing their beliefs.

