I’m going to be doing more Slavic deity/spirit/entity posts.

I’ll try and do pictures where I can find them. But when I can’t, I’ll put as much details as I’ve found, up till now in my research. I’m going to start specifying where in the spectrum of Slavic peoples the deities were worshiped.

For example:

Mokosh is noted in The Primary Chronicle – a Russian document. (See: G – Goddess in the Historical Record)

Hors is noted in that same document. Also in the Tale of Igor’s Campaign – another Russian document. (See: H – Hors)

Other spirits/entities/deities are more wide-spread in their historic presence.

The domovoi was known from the Eastern Slavs to Western and Southern Slavs. (See: D – Domovoi)

I’m vastly over-simplifying this sweep here. Just to give a kind of overview into what little bits of information I’m going to be adding from this point onward into my posts on these topics. Because it helps me categorize the information that I’ve learned…and I know that it’s got to interest someone out there besides me. I’ll still write what I’ve learned in my broader research, but I think telling where their influence was, so to put it, is kind of helpful to get a feel for the records of the time, and what the people needed or thought was important. It’s useful as a historical tool…so it should serve useful to note it all down as a religious and spiritual tool as well.

Modern Slavic Language Nations

Modern Slavic Language Nations

This is a map of nations (today) with a Slavic-language as a national language. However, it shows a distribution of what are considered the “Slavic” people. Dark green are the Eastern Slavs (Russian, Ukrainian, Belarussian). Light green are the Western Slavs (Czech, Slovak, [Moravian], Polish). The dark blue-green are the South Slavs (Croat, Bulgarian, Macedonian, Serbian, Slovene). There are smaller groups located within these nations…but those are the large groups. There are also groups of Western Slavs located within Germany, which is not colored on this map.

Still, this is a good visual to help at least give an idea of where I’m talking about, when I mention an area in future articles.

Note to self: I’ll find a map of a time closer to contemporary to also use. Because this one uses the whole of Russia…which of course was beyond the control of the Russians in the 8th or 9th Century.

