The Craft

So sometimes I realize I’m an awful pagan/witch/whatever.

Unlike most people who come to paganism or witchcraft that are younger (really around my age)…I didn’t come into it by “The Craft” or “Charmed” or any of the other pop-culture pagan phenomenon that are so popular/were so popular. The witchcraft/Wicca media things of the late 90s and early 00s weren’t at all what got me interested.

Case in point–my mom watched “Charmed”. I think I saw maybe 15 episodes total. I don’t have a clue what happens in that show. I don’t even know what goes on there. Personally, I thought the show was terribly stupid. I never understood what was so brilliant about it. It was confusing and made no sense.

Then there’s that movie brilliance of “The Craft”. I never even saw that movie until about 9 months ago. I was 21 when I saw it. Well past the time I got into all the mystical “woo-woo” of paganism and witchcraft. I don’t know why the movie would be inspiring either. All I remember of the one time I watched the movie (while cringing and trying not to laugh at how bad it was), was wondering what the hell anyone got out of it, outside of really bad 90s cliches and fashion choices. It was terrible. And the plot was awful too, as far as I remember. I’m not going to look it up again to refresh myself, but I remember it being atrociously written.

But…then I remember, after seeing so many people from my age group gush about how “the Craft” and “Charmed” influenced them…or how shows/movies like that put them on the path to paganism/witchcraft, that I’m clearly, by that manner a terrible witch and pagan. After all, those had nothing to do with my path. It doesn’t help me relate with others of the “pagan” variety online, even in person, that are around my age, because beyond our practices being so different…then they gush about these types of things. And I just don’t get it. When I say that I became interested in paganism and witchcraft because of mythology and historical records…most people my age think I’m weird. I just don’t bother even trying to connect with people from my own age group anymore. I get along, talking online, with pagans and others that are older. They seem more academic-bent than most people my age.

It’s funny though, when I realize that I’m somehow a “bad” pagan or witch.

