I like fire. It’s possibly my favorite “element”, if I’m going to talk about the elements as being earth, air, water and fire. I’m a pansy about cold, I hate the cold. So I remember being at my grandparent’s house and sitting in front of the fireplace while my grandma was crocheting on the couch right next to me.  That’s where I learned to crochet, right in front of the fireplace.

FireAnother good memories to do with fire are bonfires with my family at my grandma’s river house in summers. My uncle was bonfire-master, and we’d just sit around the fire, relaxing and enjoying company. Or…my grandma would make little mini cherry pies with me in one of her old camping cast-iron pie-making sets.

So fire is really a personal element for me. It’s reminiscent of my grandma who has died, and of a time when things in my life were far easier. Things back then were a lot less complicated. Or at least, they certainly seemed that way.

But beyond all that…there’s something to me in the way flames flicker and move. It’s like they dance to music of their own. So I’ve always connected more to fire as an element than any other. I’m sure that good memories with my family, especially my grandma, make fire important to me on a spiritual level, now that she’s gone. But also I think because I like warmth, I’m drawn to an element that represents warmth and something light.

Then again, fire is dangerous. My family has had problems. Fire has beauty but danger. I’m sure that also has something to do with my interest in it. Knowing the problems behind something pretty, that’s something I’ve gotten pretty good at, what with my family history. So really, perhaps my interest in this element is more personal experience than any obscure, unattached reason.

I think that is still fine though. It’s a pretty thing to look at. A small flame from a candle…it flickers and dances. But more fun is a bonfire to sit around with family and friends. I think some day I may even make cherry pies on a camping set again, sometime when I’m more up to the thought of it. Cherry pies over a fire pit are a good reminder of family for me. And fire reminds me of the fact that good things still happen. It’s a comforting element at the very least.

