Possibly my favorite metal.

All of my jewelry is made of silver. I have always enjoyed the shine of it, the way it glimmers and shines. I like how it makes most gems look. I think it makes me look better, rather than gold, which I think makes me look strange.

Silver has a pretty interesting history too. (Yes, the history major in me knows a lot of random facts about the history of silver. No, I shall not bore you all with facts of random-ness)


Now onto the typical beliefs of silver (per things I’ve learned through years of perusing the interwebs/pagan books):

  • Purifying effects.
  • Associated with the moon.
  • Feminine energy.
  • Harmonious/peaceful energy.

I don’t know how much of those typical beliefs I actually believe.

There is something, for me, to the whole moon/silver and sun/gold association. I think that is more with color-celestial body association for me though, and the metal’s corresponding color just falls into the color that I associate there. It is rather arbitrary, I can admit that freely…and there isn’t any greater, spiritual reason for that association. I just like it, and so it’s always stuck with me. That’s not a really deep reason to keep an association, but it is one for me, so I’m keeping it.

As for peaceful energy from silver…that one I don’t really know if I believe. And purifying effects fall into the same “I don’t know” category at the moment. I’ll have to do more research and searching to figure out my thoughts on this subject.

“Feminine energy” though. That one I have a definitive answer on. I don’t give any care to the whole masculine/feminine energy thing. I see no reason to work my magic based on a dichotomy of magic of gender. It doesn’t make sense to me. That isn’t what I’ve understood in my view, so it isn’t how I understand things to work. From that, there’s no place in my “worldview”…or better yet “magic-view” ( 🙂 ) for gender associations.

