Break the Bipolar Cycle

Break the Bipolar Cycle – Elizabeth Brondolo & Xavier Amador

So I just finished this book this Saturday afternoon. It’s Breaking the Bipolar Cycle by Elizabeth Brondolo, PhD. and Xavier Amador, PhD. I was visiting my closest friend up in Bellingham and had a bit of free time while he was working his shift at work, so I decided to finish it.

My doctor recommended this book to me a few months ago, and I bought it. It’s just taken me a while to get around to actually reading the book, since I’ve been busy. Not to mention, I don’t really like reading, on one hand, about bipolar. I know I need to learn more, but sometimes it can be a bit disheartening to learn what other people have gone through, the kinds of struggles they have faced.

On one hand, I’m very lucky. On the other, I’m also very clearly not. It’s taken over 10 years for me to be diagnosed, which is pretty normal for the course. However, I’m also pretty young to be diagnosed it seems. I’m still in my early twenties, something that a lot of people cannot say that was the case for them. So there’s some benefit to the diagnosis coming as early as it did for me, but it was still difficult and it still is painful in quite a few ways.

This book is helpful. It’s given me a few good ideas and strategies that I’m sure I should be able to employ in the future. But…being able to employ said structures and methods is far more difficult than I want to even consider right now. It’s just all very difficult for me at the moment. I don’t like thinking about mistakes that I might make in this kind of situation. The book should be rather good for me to keep in my repertoire and reread over and over again to help me cope with the struggles of bipolar.

I liked the section on medications the most. I learned some new facts and information that had been unaware of before this book. I got to learn about types and drawbacks and benefits of each type of medication that has been used for medicating bipolar disorder.

Then I liked how it was broken down into sections on symptoms, handling stress, and discussing how to deal with the challenges of bipolar disorder. Another huge thing that I liked was the discussion of how to talk with your doctor and family about the disorder and the way it affects their lives as well as say, my own. The little hints on how to talk to family and friends were nice, and I was a bit happy with finding out ways to help me discuss problems that I have with my friends and family that are aware of what I’m going through. And any way that I can clearly communicate my problems to my doctor is a huge help in my treatment.

Really, this book, if you don’t have it, you really should get it. I am glad that my doctor suggested it to me. And even more grateful that I bought it.

