I should really remember to write down my dreams when I remember them.

It’s for one reason only: I never remember my dreams. I can only remember maybe 1 or 2 dreams in my whole life worth any salt. So when I woke up Thursday morning, I should have written it down immediately. Instead, like an idiot, I assumed, “Oh, I’ll remember it until tomorrow when I have time to blog.” And tomorrow became today, Saturday, and I totally forgot said dream. Of course. So now I can’t remember it. But I know it was extremely important, at least a few details were…and they had something to do with paganism. Because I remember a pair of words that tell me it was definitely related to my pagan journey, and it had absolutely nothing to do with anything in my daily life these last few weeks, because I’ve been too busy to read any pagan books.

But of course, I didn’t write down the dream, so all I remember is the pair of words: Perun and Veles. Which, in Slavic paganism are pretty important. They constantly battle each other, Perun, who is considered in most scholarship to be the most important of the gods (often compared to Thor), god of thunder, and Veles, god of the underworld, magic, and oftentimes merchants amongst others realms of interest. Veles is often portrayed as a snake, and Perun does battle with an axe. But…those aren’t things from my dreams, those are things I know from my own research.

My dream I don’t remember anything except those two words. I really should have written the dream down, if I had any common sense.

By now, having learned my lesson, I should have learned that dream divination might be useful. Considering how few of my dreams I remember, they usually seem pretty relevant to my life. Oh well, I think I learned my lesson this time. I know that theoretically I’ve learned my lesson this time. But unusually for me, in my dream, I know the order of names was backwards. Usually the pair is listed “Perun and Veles”…but I distinctly remember that in my dream they were listed backwards, “Veles and Perun”. I’m not sure if there’s meaning to that, but I suspect that there is.

I don’t know what it is yet, but I’m sure that eventually I’ll learn the meaning. In the meantime, dreams aside, I’m just going to keep in mind for the future – if I have any dreams that I remember, I’ll write them down. This one though, at least I remembered a tiny detail. Perhaps I remembered the most important one, or at least I hope I did.

