Returning back to my roots again.

This image was actually what got me interested in paganism, way back when I was a kid. I don’t quite remember what exactly I was watching, but I know it was a History Channel special. It might have been discussing Celtic art, or culture, but I honestly can’t remember anymore. I do remember that I was fascinated by the artwork and the figure of Cernunnos. So I had to go and look up more information. Not that there was a lot to learn, especially since I was trying to figure out how to spell “Cernunnos” phonetically at the time in my internet searches.

But, I was fascinated. I definitely can’t fault this for being my introduction to paganism. It got me searching. And, it also sparked my interest in ancient and medieval cultures and art as well.

I don’t have much to say about Cernunnos himself. I never really interacted or cared for him. I just found his figure fascinating. Especially since so little was known, and how it became the standard, he was an “over-arching” Celtic deity. I found that concept interesting, if not confusing. But, as a figure, I found him fascinating, if not distant. Then again, I know I’ve never really been meant to go on a path towards Celtic paganism.

Still, it’s a good piece of art.

(This is a short entry, sorry. I don’t have much to say. It’s just a short reminiscence.)

