I just finished my final Christmas of the year (my family has minimum 3 a year, due to all the divorces). Usually Christmas takes minimum 2 weeks, sometimes a month to get through. It’s always at least 2.5 weeks of Christmas meetings between various groups within my family though. I only had 2 Christmas’ this year, which is shocking, because I’ve always had minimum 3 since I was 11 years old. So it’s a bit bizarre to have so few to deal with, and then, just 4 days between the two events. So it’s an unusually quick Christmas season for me. I’m not used to this at all, honestly. It’s bizarre to be done with Christmas before Christmas Day in my family, if I’m completely telling the truth.

I got 6 books on Russian and Slavic mythology and paganism. I got Ivanits text, another text by another author titled Land of the Firebird,  and other texts that I’m not sure of the titles because I don’t have them in front of me at the moment. One is a book of folk tales with illustrations, like a children’s book of sorts that my mom bought for me at a Russian store-stand at a Christmas Market in the Tacoma/Seattle area. The women there are probably quite glad with my family’s patronage, because my grandma and mom buy me a fortune’s worth of goods from this shop. But the folk tales are very amazing too, I love the illustrations. And the mythology books are very interesting from the scans I’ve done so far, I’m excited to read more of them all this January.

I’ve gotten an English translation of the Russian Primary Chronicle that I can’t wait to read either, because I’m very excited to get into that. I’ve been looking for a good translation of it, and I just haven’t had the money to buy one. The version I have right now that I just got is from the 1950’s, and a very good version I’m sure. In any case, it’s excellent social/cultural knowledge for the time period. I love historical knowledge that I can glean, so the Chronicle is a very good gift for me as well.

I adore new books, and getting so many in 1 year Christmas is the perfect thing for me. So now I have quite a few new books to get into over the next few months to read from and dig into for information. It’s actually inspiring to have new books to read again. I always feel a bit stagnated without books around to read.

Christmas usually is awful for me, what with how long it takes, and how much drama there is within my family. However, this year it’s seeming to be okay so far. I’m hoping this continues tomorrow. Because this influx of wonderful books is an excellent sign of what I’m getting in terms of familial relations at the moment. I’m hoping it keeps up the good mood through the rest of my visit to this side of the state.

