High-res version

This is my latest tattoo, on my upper back. Got it June 2011, so it’s short of a year old now. I’m sharing it here because it’s a symbol that means a lot to me. For the purpose of this blog, the quote isn’t important. That’s a more philosophical topic that maybe I’ll cover at some other time. For now, it’s the triskele that I’m talking about. I’m not really sure how most of the pagan community feels about tattoos, I don’t know a lot of pagans in real life of any stripe, so I couldn’t even begin to tell you that. However, even if most of them disagree, I like my tattoo, and it’s got a double significance for me.

The design itself is a blown-up photo-copy of a pendant my grandma bought for me for my 16th birthday. The outline is imperfect, as can obviously be seen, which was on purpose. The pendant itself isn’t perfectly shaped, it’s a bit imperfect, so I wanted that there. It’s not, as my sister originally thought, a problem with the artist, but a distinct design point. This pendant is actually the last physical birthday gift my grandma bought me. In my family, I usually get gift cards to book stores, so rarely do I get real gifts. Since this is the last one, it means far more to me than just a regular pendant. My grandma passed away October 2010, so I got this to honor her. She’s one of the nicest people I’ve ever met, and there isn’t a day I don’t miss her. The turquoise accented center is because my grandma loved the Southwest and always would come back from trips with something turquoise in color, and she wore it a lot too.

I also got it because the triskele has always been a fascinating symbol for me. I found it online when I was about 10 or so and had to find out what it meant. It’s actually become, over the last few years, far more important to me than the pentacle or the triple-moon or any other symbol. Partially because of my grandma, but also because I’ve realized I connect far more deeply to the triskele, and triquetra also, than I do to the more “traditional” symbols. It’s also a more uniquely Celtic symbol, or at least that’s what my research has shown – so if I’m wrong there, please do let me know – so I suppose there’s also a bit of some heritage pride involved. It’s a symbol that I’ve always loved, and I always knew that I wanted a tattoo for my faith. It had to be something that I wouldn’t regret though, something that was me above all else. That was why I had to choose this symbol over what most would traditionally think of when they heard “pagan” or “witch”. It is more of a statement about me personally and it reflects my heritage and my family far more than the usual would, and I love it.

Save

